Day 206: Sacrifices

Day 206: Sacrifices

Wednesday, July 26, 2017

I have been forced to abandon the quest I embarked upon four years ago to own a Leica camera. I was literally a month away from placing my order.

But, you know… Life. Family. Priorities. It’s going to wipe out all that I’ve saved for the Leica and I don’t know if I have it in me to start again.

I’ve always proudly maintained that making sacrifices is my responsibility and my privilege as a father and husband… but I’d be lying if I said this doesn’t hurt.


About today’s photo: my abject disappointment, captured moments after I realised what I’d have to give up. I imagine I’m going to look like this for the next few days. 

6 thoughts on “Day 206: Sacrifices

  1. Want a Leica, but don’t want to blow the budget? You could do far worse than look at Fuji X100. I shot my entire honeymoon on one! Can you tell the difference in images between a Leica and an X100? Slightly! Enough to make a difference? Nope!

  2. If it’s any comfort: you never know what the future might bring; it might bring you the Leica someday.

    Some thirty years ago I learned a decent amount of Japanese and saved for years to travel to Japan. I was going to take the Trans-Siberian express and stay with penfriends in Japan. But when I turned up in the international ticket office to buy my rail ticket, I was told it was no longer on sale. Communism had just fallen, the Soviet-Union was falling apart, relations with Russia were uncertain, nobody knew if the Trans-Siberian railway even run still. I couldn’t afford to fly so that was that. I didn’t know then of course but it was the closest I’ve ever got to travelling outside Europe: life and family got in the way.

    But recently family asked how I wanted to celebrate my fiftieth birthday, and I said I’d just really want to set foot on another continent. There could have been cheaper places to visit but guess where I’m going next year? (If I live that long.) I’m not sure I have the will power to relearn Japanese though. 🙂

  3. Excuse me for bursting on the scene. It is a long story, but I think I have a Leica. Do they still make film for it? I inherited it from a dear departed friend. I can’t see using it at 65 and bungling. I have to dig it up . . . may be a leica offshoot
    peace, and thanks for liking my Renaissance angel,
    mickey

  4. I will dig for it . . . I have several of his old rangefinders. The possible Leica uses 4×4 film, eh? This one does . . . holding it at waist level and looking down? I am a naive . . . the perfect seller if it really is a Leica! I’d be willing to let got of it. Maybe you’d smile a little instead of looking so distraught above . . . poor guy: mickeypamo@gmail.com (I trust idiots)
    peace
    ms. mickey

Leave a Reply

