Day 198: Farewell to my teacher

Day 198: Farewell to my teacher

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

I never thought I’d be looking back at this moment, taken almost exactly a year ago, so soon through a prism of nostalgia; for one of them is now gone.

You were there for me before the beginning.

You understood that I valued constructive criticism more than validation.

I put my faith in you, and you showed me the path.

I’m gutted that I couldn’t say goodbye in person. But I take some comfort in knowing it was your choice to leave… that some things are indeed more important than Wing Chun.

“Our relationship is beyond friendship, beyond family. And I will let him go.”

Leave a Reply

