Day 70: Behind these smiles

Day 70: Behind these smiles

Sunday, March 12, 2017

My initial feeling about this photo is that I don’t like it, because I know the incredible drama that occurred before the moment was captured.

But then I remembered an old photo I took of a family that put aside its politics to celebrate their father’s birthday one last time; I lost track of the time I spent pondering whatever truth there may be in their faces.

Here? Well, one of these children has had a very short temper the entire week. The parents, being almost out of ideas, are wondering why things have gone wrong again, out here in the country, when we’re all just trying to relax.

Leave a Reply

