Day 134: Seven thunders uttered their voices

Day 134: Seven thunders uttered their voices

Day 134: Seven thunders uttered their voices

Friday, May 13, 2016

A few weeks ago, I was asked to judge Australia’s best games journalists. The awards ceremony is taking place tonight.

I agreed to do it because it’s a field I devoted 12 years of my life to and I was curious about how things are travelling – but I have to admit to being disappointed by the entries I read. Of the 39 nominees, most are trying to be the gaming world’s answer to Waleed Aly, as though journalism is about sharing their clever opinions. A handful are actually engaging the community and contributing to the growth of the culture. Two are really good.

Between the lines, I can see things are considerably smaller than before, and spread thinly. I’m not even sure you can even call it an industry anymore.

C’est la vie.


About today’s photo: This was meant to be an effect I shot years ago that I haven’t been able to emulate since, but it somehow accentuated the idea of walking away without looking back. I had it all set up, but then for some reason I changed my mind on the composition, and now it looks nothing like what I wanted. Blergh.

Leave a Reply

