Day 105: Empowering

Day 105: Empowering

Day 105: Empowering

Thursday, April 14, 2016

I was beyond delighted when I realised Rey is the central hero of the new Star Wars movie. I watched my daughter’s eyes light up at the sight of Rey piloting the Millennium Falcon, beating Kylo Ren in a lightsaber duel; and somewhere deep down inside, I hoped she was foolishly entertaining the notion that these could be future job options, as I once did when I was her age.

I wanted to give JJ Abrams and everyone on the writing team a pat on the back for giving this to her while she is at such an impressionable stage in her life, in a time where strong female protagonists remain in short supply.

I question whether I’ll get any such acknowledgement for putting an Asian man on the front cover of my magazine, however – not that I’m looking for it. You could call it, partly, my little protest against how white-washed the Australian media is. Maybe nobody cares.

Either way, it’s a first for me.

Leave a Reply

