Day 202: Stubborn

 

Day 202: Stubborn

Day 202: Stubborn

Sunday, 21 July 2014

This is how stubborn I am: even though both of my ankles were out of commission for 10 weeks, with one of them strapped in a Boot of Shame for two of those weeks, I kept up my training in Wing Chun. I moved very gingerly, giving any sparring a miss and being honest with myself about never breaking into a run – all because I wanted to pass my Grade 2 exam. According to my instructors, this is also the grade where most students quit because the learning curve ramps up dramatically; its exam being the hardest to pass compared with other grades.

Well I passed. And my leg is at about 70 per cent.

And this is what I have to say to every person who told me I couldn’t do it:

3 thoughts on “Day 202: Stubborn

  1. I leave a response whenever I like a article on a site
    or if I have something to add to the discussion. It’s a result of the fire displayed in the post I looked at.
    And after this article Day 202: Stubborn | idiot.with.camera.
    I was moved enough to drop a thought 😛 I do have a few questions
    for you if it’s okay. Could it be simply me or do
    a few of these remarks come across as if they are coming from brain dead visitors?

    😛 And, if you are writing on additional online sites, I’d like
    to keep up with you. Would you list the complete urls
    of all your social pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?

    • Thank you very much for your feedback. I’m often asked who I’m addressing in posts like these, and the truth is I’m venting towards various people in my life. That’s more a reflection on me than anything else – introversion, emotional repression and so on. That said, everyone who’s commented on my blog has been friendly and supportive, which I greatly appreciate.

      Unfortunately I’m not as prolific a writer as I used to be. This blog is my creative outlet, but I do occasionally tweet from @scientificninja.

  2. Pingback: Day 298: Stock take | idiot.with.camera

Leave a Reply

