Day 198: Making light work

Day 198: Making light work

Day 198: Making light work

Wednesday, 17 July 2014

The idiom “many hands make light work” comes from the idea that hard work becomes easy if everyone pitches in. It’s believed to have originated from a 16th Century writer named John Heywood, who coined other little phrases like “one good turn deserves another” and “better late than never”.

I’m explaining this because I don’t want my pun to come across as ignorant or wilfully misleading: I recently had to explain that it doesn’t actually have anything to do with electricity or flicking a switch.

She then proceeded to tell me how I’m like Abe Simpson rambling about how wearing an onion on your belt was the fashion of the time.

I hate people.

Leave a Reply

