Day 178: And then there were two

Day 178: And then there were two

Day 178: And then there were two

Friday, 27 June 2014

I’ve always been the Black Sheep of the family. While everyone else pursued careers that are technical, scientific and entrepreneurial, I was the only one who chose a creative path and took up the life of a writer.

When you realise you’re the one talking in a different wavelength from everyone else, and that they’re not encouraging you in as much as they’re just being politely supportive out of familial obligation, you tend to withdraw.

Today, I discovered that one of my cousins is fast becoming an accomplished writer. There are people who say they can write, and there are people who can write. She is one of the latter. And she even writes about the issues I find important.

Laura is considerably younger than I am, and the last time I saw her she was still in school and thought nothing of spoiling the last Harry Potter book for me, but we’ve stayed in touch nonetheless.

I’m gratified and proud that, in spite of the years and distance between us, someone else in the family has similar instincts and struggles to my own. 

Who knows? Maybe one day, we can sit down and trade war stories over a drink. But for now, I’m happy to cheer for her from a distance. 

One thought on “Day 178: And then there were two

Leave a Reply

