Day 74: An unfamiliar face

Day 74: Unfamiliar faces

Day 74: An unfamiliar face

Saturday, 15 March 2014

Face blindness, known as prosopagnosia, is a condition in which sufferers are incapable of recognising the facial features of another person. Their ability to recognise other people, then, centres on paying attention to other features such as hair, posture, gait, tone of voice… Brad Pitt apparently has this condition, or at least that’s what I heard on a podcast.

I’m pretty sure I don’t have face blindness, but there are certain types of people whose faces I can’t remember for the life of me. It doesn’t happen often, but when it does it’s shocking because it’s as though some mystery person popped out of nowhere and is somehow on familiar speaking terms with me. As an introvert it’s especially shocking, especially when I’m stifling the urge to recoil and ask “WHO THE F**K ARE YOU?”

Well, I’ve encountered one such person recently, someone I’ll definitely be running into a lot.

Maybe there’s such a thing as selective face blindness?

One thought on “Day 74: An unfamiliar face

Leave a Reply

