Day 23: Moi?

Day 23: Moi?

Day 23: Moi?

Thursday, 23 January 2014

Several weeks ago, I was nominated for a Liebster Award by TheAdventuresOfBeka, which I humbly accept. I suppose the first thing I need to say is that I am flattered and honoured. It’s always a pleasant surprise to discover one’s work is enjoyed by others.

The second thing I need to do is explain why I’ve taken so long to accept this award and, as the rules dictate, respond by paying it forward.

You see, I genuinely have difficulty believing that anything I do is worth celebrating. It’s partly because I achieved some success and recognition early in life, and I’ve since come to question its value and whether it all came too cheaply.

What I do here is purely for myself, which therefore makes it an indulgence. I share it in the belief that it might be amusing to others, which is all I really look for in other blogs, even though I believe there’s nothing especially unique about what I do. Maybe that’s the INTJ in me talking, but if it brings a little joy to others, who am I to judge?

So. Let’s answer the questions that TheAdventuresOfBeka put forward:

What was the happiest moment of the last week for you?
Beginning my training in Wing Chun. I already have a martial arts background from childhood, but this time I’m doing it as an adult. It’s also my way of ensuring that it’s safe for my children to learn when the time comes. I had my arse royally handed to me by a 60 year-old woman and I’m not ashamed to admit it. The band-aid on my hand in today’s photo? Skinned my knuckles.

What makes you really, really mad?
I’d like to think I don’t get mad too easily: life’s too short to waste on hating or being mad. I realise that might be a little hard to believe, given how opinionated I can be, but there’s a difference between forming an opinion and forming an emotional attachment to it. That said, if I had to identify something that makes me mad, it’s people who are driven by malice.

What is your favourite photograph?

“A photo? Now? Why? I hate being the centre of attention. I’m not even wearing make-up. Can’t it just be sexytimes already?”

“A photo? Now? I hate being the centre of attention. Can’t it just be sexytimes already?”

 

 

Who is your favourite superhero?

"Hold on a second… you're not just some guy in a bat costume, are you?!"

“Hold on a second… you’re not just some guy in a bat costume, are you?!”

 

If you could only eat one food for the rest of your life, what would it be?
I’d say schnitzel, but then I wouldn’t live for very long.

Now comes the awkward part. These are the blogs I’ve followed and enjoyed which I’d like to nominate for a Liebster Award. It feels a little unfair to nominate just five because my time is too precious to waste on any old shit; and I read way more than five blogs. But, them’s the rules, so here they are…

  • Ming Thein – Photographer: Most tech and photography sites are glorified product catalogues, but Ming Thein devotes his considerable talents exclusively towards discussing the craft of photography. Whether he’s reviewing a camera or discussing technique, there is an earnestness about his personal style that carries more credibility than most every tech blog I’ve ever read.
  • Mabel Kwong – Asian-Australian, multiculturalism and diversity: I chanced upon Mabel’s blog last year and she is one of the most intelligent young writers out there on Asian-Australian cultural issues. I’m enjoying watching her evolve as a writer and I hope she gets her platform.
  • Leanne Cole Photography: A prolific photographer from Melbourne Australia whose work I really enjoy. What fascinates me is that much of what she captures is completely different from anything I understand or perceive of this country.
  • Nate Thayer: I started reading this blog because of this post http://natethayer.wordpress.com/2013/03/04/a-day-in-the-life-of-a-freelance-journalist-2013/. He calls it as he sees it, he makes no apologies, and he absolutely doesn’t hold back.
  • My own diary in 365 days: European street photography. I could look at this stuff all day.

If you folks decide, as I did, to (eventually) pay this forward, here are my questions for you:

  1. If you knew you couldn’t fail, what would you be doing right now?
  2. In your spare time, you like to…?
  3. What was the toughest challenge you faced last week, and how did you meet it?
  4. What’s your ideal holiday destination?
  5. What was the last amazing meal you had?
2 thoughts on “Day 23: Moi?

  1. Congrats on your award! I enjoy your blog a lot, I get entertained by the photos you put up each week. Thank you for the nomination. I’m not much of an awards person, but I will put a link on my blog somewhere soon.

Leave a Reply

