Day 22: Not quite the conversation I expected…

Day 22: Not quite the conversation I expected…

Day 22: Not quite the conversation I expected…

Wednesday, 22 January 2014

My camera is a great conversation-starter since I take it with me everywhere I go. It gives people the opportunity to chatter about something other than the weather when making small-talk. There’s this one lady, a Malaysian-Chinese in her mid-40s, whom I’ve chatted with a few times in the office. She’s got two teenaged sons who play FIFA on their Xbox 360. She seems nice enough.

But today, we both ended up in the elevator together. After a brief, awkward silence, the following words were exchanged:

“This is going to be a little bit personal but it’s something I really need to say to you.”

“Uh, sure – what’s on your mind?”

“Have you ever thought about doing something with your voice?”

“Like surgery?”

“No, I mean like a radio announcer or something similar. You have an incredible gift. It’s just so rare to hear a voice like yours from an Asian man.”

“How do you mean?”

“It just reminds me so much of the radio announcers I used to listen to when I was young. It’s so deep. And clear! And so confident. Most Asian men are awkward and high-pitched. You have a gift.”

“Uhh… Thank you, it’s very flattering of you to say.”

She then rolls her eyes back and breathlessly sighs, ““Oooh I could just sit there and listen to you talk all day.”

It was at that moment I realised she’s just moved to the workstation behind me this week.

Well that escalated quickly.

Leave a Reply

