Day 365: Thank you and goodnight

Day 365: Thank you and goodnight

Day 365: Thank you and goodnight

Tuesday, 31 December 2013

It’s been an interesting year. I…

  • walked away from a 16 year career in the media. Part of me suspects I’ll go back one day; another part of me hopes it’s permanent. I’ve since learned that several other journalists I know have done the same.
  • started learning Korean.
  • spent three straight months in poor health, variously from a pinched nerve, flu and bronchitis.
  • spent 20 minutes with Norman Reedus. The last five minutes were spent nerding over cameras.
  • took greater steps to being the change I want to see in the world by actively speaking out against racists in the media, including some former colleagues.
  • shot the Red Hot Chilli Peppers at Big Day Out. Temperatures rose to 45 degrees celsius (113 degrees Fahrenheit).
  • had the supreme satisfaction of telling a former employer who once screwed me over, and then had the temerity to sound me out over a new commercial proposition, that he can’t afford me anymore.
  • dined with Samantha at Momofuku Seiōbo.
  • started shooting weddings on a professional basis.
  • shared a sausage sandwich with Hugh Fearnley-Whittingstall.
  • House of Cards. Nothing else is worth watching.
  • installed solar panels on my house. I’m doing my bit to help save the world by using clean, free energy while reducing my bill by 40 per cent.
  • discovered Æbleskivers.
  • had an incredible photographic adventure in Bali where I stayed awake for 48 hours straight.
  • built a giant LEGO R2-D2 in a five-hour marathon.
  • finished my third year of shooting one self portrait a day.

Now, I have to ask the question that I’ve asked myself twice before: do I continue with this blog? I gotta be honest – I’m really, really tired.

3 thoughts on “Day 365: Thank you and goodnight

  1. I, for one, hope you don’t stop. I adore your talent and it’s been fun watching your kids go through different stages, and of course, keeping up with your day to day life. I can sympathize however with being exhausted. And you’ve been doing this for three years! I had no idea.

    If you do decide to take a break I hope you’ll come back and grace us with your outstanding photos, your wonderful eye for the aesthetic, your amazing feats with gravity (or lack thereof), and your beautiful family.

    Cheers, and Happy New Year to you!

    Linda

  2. I have strangely found your blog…entertaining. Never been into photography blogs myself, but the more I’m around the WordPress blogosphere, the more I see so much life in photos. Wow, one self portrait a day for three years straight is a big achievement. Would definitely love to see this blog continue, though I wouldn’t mind seeing something new here. Happy New Year, and all the best!

Leave a Reply

