Day 328: Why settle for retro when you can have vintage?

Day 328: Why settle for retro when you can have vintage?

Day 328: Why settle for retro when you can have vintage?

Sunday, 24 November 2013

I always wondered where my interest in photography came from – now I know. My mother has gifted me a camera she bought more than 30 years ago, but never had the time to enjoy. It’s the Minolta X-700, in mint condition, considered in some circles to be the best manual film camera ever made by the company.

With a set of clicky dials, a manual focus technique that aligns a split image, and a satisfying “TH-CHOCK!” sound with each shutter release, I think this camera has killed off any desire I have to own a Leica (much less the Nikon Df)… at least for the time being.

Conversely, it gives me even more respect for Sony’s A7R, which has as much firepower as a pro-level camera but is as compact as this relic of yesteryear.

One thought on “Day 328: Why settle for retro when you can have vintage?

  1. Pingback: Day 50: First impressions of the Nikon Df | idiot.with.camera

Leave a Reply

